Fake Facebook 'Password Reset' E-Mails Hiding Malware

Facebook's good name is being leveraged for yet another brutal round of malware dispersal. The trojan, Bredolab, is being distributed via e-mails with the subject line "Facebook Password Reset Confirmation". The message generally reads:
The attachment, a .zip file, will have the name "Facebook_Password_" followed by a short sequence of random numbers and letters. Inside, there is an identically named file, except that it's an .exe (or executable) file instead of an archive. Run that file and you'll be kick-starting a torrent of malware downloads, including a fake anti-spyware program. Bredolab is able to hide by injecting its own code into existing Windows components, and by automatically shutting down if it detects another program (such as an anti-virus package) investigating its activities.Hey (insert username),
Because of the measures taken to provide safety to our clients, your password has been changed.
You can find your new password in attached document.
Thanks,
The Facebook Team
Avoiding infection with this one should be pretty simple, though. First off, if you haven't requested a reset from Facebook, you'll never receive such a message. Secondly, even if you did reset your password, Facebook wouldn't send it to you as an attachment. That being the case, Facebook_Password.zip should be setting off alarms in your head. Anyway, you should really never open attachments in e-mails that you weren't expecting, or that aren't from a trusted source.
If you can remember those three things, you should be safe. [From: Mashable and Facebook and MX Lab]



Reader Comments (Page 1 of 1)
John Johnerson said 7:45PM on 10-28-2009
Ok who would be stupid enough to fall for that scam!? NO way would Facebook send out an email asking for your password- THEY already have it. PLUS they wouldn't word an official email so childishly!
Reply
John Fredson said 7:50PM on 10-28-2009
First of all, if you are that stupid to open an attachment from someone you dont know, then you get what you deserve... Secondly, NO way would facebook send an email to you in such a childishly worded manner! DONT fall for it.
Reply
catarina said 7:01AM on 11-01-2009
I received the exact e-mail but I don't have a facebook account. Does anyone know if it's possible to get this e-mail without an account or has someoned opened an account in my name using my e-mail address?
Reply
Bryan L. said 10:52AM on 11-01-2009
You can go to facebook.com and run a member search with your name and see what comes up if your concerned that someone has opened an account under your name. That would be a start.
PBbeachbums said 8:15AM on 11-01-2009
Re: fake facebook e-mail; just a simple thank you for the heads up.
Reply
Nena said 8:31AM on 11-01-2009
Catarina...it is just a fake email...they don't even know who has and who doesn't have a Facebook account. Don 't open it, and don't click on any links if you do open it. The point of it is to infect your computer with a virus.
There is another one on Facebook that looks like it comes from one of your 'friends.' It says "Hey, is this really you in this video?" Same thing, it's malware trying to put a virus on your computer. Norton swooped in and stopped it on my computer, but another gal lost her hard drive because of it.
Reply
Aloofah said 11:47AM on 11-01-2009
After having that tragic experience with Mozilla erasing all of my bookmarks as an excuse for me getting an upgrade; I do not trust any social network I want to do away with all social networks they are a big waste of time. Everyone is saying the same nothings.
Reply