Hot on HuffPost Tech:

See More Stories
AOL Tech

Bug in Mac OS X Snow Leopard Deleting Users' Accounts


What is it that everyone says about Macs? "They just work?" Well, that might have been true pre-Snow Leopard...

In addition to news of rampant compatibility problems and a quiet admission that even Macs are vulnerable to malware, there is now word that the 10.6 version of OS X was shipped with a bug so severe it could wipe out all of your data. If you upgraded to the latest version, and have yet to log in using the guest account, we suggest you immediately disable said account.



While Apple has yet to admit to the flaw, reports are pouring in from around the Web: logging in with the guest account could delete all of the data associated with the primary account. If you click on the guest account (even accidentally), and the computer hangs, there's a good chance that when you go back and log into your personal account, all of your files will have been devoured by the operating system.

Let's hope that Apple addresses this issue soon. (Snow Leopard is already approaching the two-month mark.) Otherwise, we'll have to start penning open letters to the boys in Cupertino complaining about their consistent failures to fix bugs and plug security holes in a timely fashion. [From: Apple Forums via Engadget]

Tags: Apple, bugs, mac, os x, OsX, snow leopard, SnowLeopard, top

Comments

3

Add your comments

Please keep your comments relevant to this blog entry. Email addresses are never displayed, but they are required to confirm your comments.

When you enter your name and email address, you'll be sent a link to confirm your comment, and a password. To leave another comment, just use that password.

To create a live link, simply type the URL (including http://) or email address and we will make it a live link for you. You can put up to 3 URLs in your comments. Line breaks and paragraphs are automatically converted — no need to use <p> or <br /> tags.