Fake Twitter Application Site Infects Your PC

Take a look at the Web site for iPhone app TweetFollow, for instance. While its official Web site URL is 'b1te.com/tweetfollow,' some hostile fellows have registered the URL 'tweetfollow.com' (DO NOT VISIT!) and loaded the site with malicious JavaScript that pushes malware onto your PC, perhaps to take advantage of the users looking for information about the useful (and not dangerous) iPhone application.
The exploitative JavaScript in question is named 'app_info_next_312.js,' and the same script can be found on close to 100 other virus-delivering sites. To be clear, the actual iPhone application and its developers are not involved with the bogus site, and the iPhone application itself will not lead you to the hostile site, nor infect your iPhone or your computer with malware. You will only be infected if you go to the site 'tweetfollow.com.'
It can be difficult to avoid a scam like this, but like we always say, use common sense at all times. If you're looking for the official site of an iPhone application, we suggest using the link provided on the app's iTunes description page. [From: Trend Micro]
Related Links:





Whitney Houston Dead: Singer Dies at 48, Body Found in Beverly Hilton Hotel
Whitney Houston Autopsy: Cause of Death Determined?
Whitney Houston, Bobbi Kristina: Late Singer's Daughter Hospitalized
Whitney Houston Dead: Stars React to Legend's Sudden Death
Adele Five-Year Break? Singer Plans to Focus on Relationship, Write 'Happy Record'
Jennifer Hudson Whitney Tribute: Grammy President Reveals Why Singer Was Chosen for Musical Memorial
Grammy 2012 Winners' List: Adele Sweeps Music's Biggest Night
5-Hour Energy: A Success Equal Parts Caffeine, Chemistry and Meditation
3 Economic Misconceptions That Need to Die
People With Easy-To-Pronounce Names More Likely To Succeed, Study Says















Add your comments